TC Brown, Amherst

Photo courtesy of The Buffalo News.

Photo from The Buffalo News.

By Bianca Williams-McClamb

TC Brown, a 17-year-old senior at Amherst, has been playing basketball since he was 2 years old. As he grew, so did his love of the sport and he quickly came to know that basketball was his destiny.

Brown currently has no destination for his collegiate career, however he is motivated to excel in his sport of choice.

When asked who his personal cheerleaders were, Brown swiftly responded “my father,” who attends all of his games without fail. Brown did not neglect to mention his mother, his girlfriend McKenna, and Amherst fan Bob “Hollywood” and the important role they play in his life.

Brown is an avid fan of music and always listens to it while stretching and trying to get hyped for a game.

On the topic of his team and coaches, Brown said: “I’ve become a lot more confident with my team since last year and I love my teammates. We really are a family and my coach is like my second dad.” That confidence is not misplaced as this season Brown is already averaging 23 points per game.

He continued about his coach, Christopher Kensy, by saying, “We’ve known each other for five years and he’s coached me for four. Our relationship has grown every year and he’s helped me on and off the court. I appreciate everything he does for me and he’s probably the best coach I’ve ever had.”

Brown has never been hurt playing basketball and prides himself on being an “ironman” on the court.

When his team loses, Brown takes it hard at first but puts it in the past hits the film to study and is back to it the next game. When talking about his team on both sides the ball he said, “We pride ourselves on defense but we know we can always work on our help defense. And with offense I think we have a lot of scorers, so even when myself or Amadi (Ikpeze) is off that
game we always have people who can step up.”

Brown said he has three goals: going undefeated, winning a championship, and making history.

Leave a comment