Summer Hemphill, Cardinal O’Hara

TV_hemphill1

Photo from sunnews.net.

By Niko Samaniego

As one of the most talked about players in Western New York, senior Summer Hemphill will not go unrecognized.

Hemphill was a third-team All-WNY selection last year.  It all started at age 12 for Hemphill when she started playing basketball and recognized how much she loved the sport. By age 14, she realized she was ready to play at a higher level and joined her first travel league. Standing tall at 6 feet, 1 inch, it was clear she had the height and physical ability to continue her career.

To be the best player it is important to learn from better players. Inspired by her favorite player LeBron James and her favorite team the Cleveland Cavaliers, Summer worked hard on her game all year round.

“I play in the summer a lot with my other teammates, the summer league is less competitive but it helps me keep up with my skills training,” Summer says.

These summer leagues provided Hemphill with the opportunity to hone her skills in a more relaxed setting.

“I remember one summer season game where I missed an easy shot and we lost in the final seconds of the game.” Hemphill recovers from such losses with inspiring determination and confidence. “I was sad but then for the rest of the summer I went and practiced my shot over and over and over.”

Summer was brought to Cardinal O’Hara by Coach Nick O’Neil and credits him in her development as a player. “Coach Nick is the one who believed in me and pushed me so I could be my best”.

It was one of her biggest decisions transferring to the new school was one of the biggest decisions of Hemphill’s career and it proved as a test of her character.

Finding it initially difficult to play with a new team of girls, Summer has come a long way and has made some great friends in the process.

“I’m closest and play well with Cori Dixon, she is like a little sister to me.” Dixon is the point guard for the hawks and has showed to be a huge factor in keeping the Hawks unified.

The biggest accomplishment of Summer’s career was at a Monday night game against Mount Mercy. The Hawks dominated the game and in the third quarter Summer Hemphill scored her 1000th career point.

“It was an amazing experience, they stopped the game and everyone cheered for me. My teammates hugged and yelled as I was so happy to finally be recognized after 2 years.” She went on to finish the game with 14 points and 15 rebounds.

With all of these accomplishments and memories it’s hard to say what is next for Hemphill.

“I believe my team could go to States this year as long as we work on our communication and enhance our conditioning,” she said,

The young student athlete looks to play college basketball and getting her high school diploma. Looking at schools such as Robert Morris and UMass, her collegiate prospects look strong.

When asked if she would ever want to play in the Women’s National Basketball Association, Summer replied “no… not really. I don’t like watching it, it’s kind of boring, but if I was offered a shot I would definitely take it.” A comical, yet truthful answer from a young woman with a bright future whichever path she chooses.

Leave a comment